Matrignosis: A Blog About Inner Wisdom

Think Pyschologically; Live Spiritually

Death with Dignity by Carol P. Christ November 3, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — jeanraffa @ 10:33 am

FallWinter

“Tears, sorrow, and disappointment are bitter, but wisdom is the comforter in all psychic suffering.”

Carl Jung, Mysterium Coniunctionis, Page 246, Para 330.

My friends: I’ve just returned from a long weekend in the mountains of North Carolina, where we relished some delicious fall colors before being surprised by the first snow. As we enjoyed Nature’s spectacular reminder of  life’s never-ending cycles, the personal drama of Brittany Maynard’s dying and death was played out on a national stage. I fully support her decision to die with dignity and am pleased to reblog this post about it by Carol P. Christ. My deepest sympathies go out to Brittany’s loved ones. Jeanie

 

 

Carol Christ in LesbosIn the summer of 1960 when I was 14 years old my much loved grandmother Mae Inglis Christ died of a cancer that affected her brain. The last time I saw my Nannie was shortly after her diagnosis in the early spring. While we were visiting, the cancer affected her back, and she took to her bed. In those days children were not allowed in hospitals. I never saw my grandmother alive again, but my mother told us that our grandmother was hooked up to tubes much longer than she should have been. Mother vowed, “This will never happen to me.” I was driven to the funeral in a limousine with my grandmother’s girlfriends. They spoke about my grandmother’s last days, describing how (because her mind was affected by cancer) my little grandmother had screamed and screamed at them for not visiting–even though they were with her every day. They…

View original post 1,238 more words

 

Leave a Reply

